terewhire.blogg.se

Avid turntable with sme tonearm
Avid turntable with sme tonearm








avid turntable with sme tonearm

avid turntable with sme tonearm

#AVID TURNTABLE WITH SME TONEARM SERIES#

But I used my old series 11 on both my TD150 I had at the time and my Logic DM101 which I dearly miss,snivel sob.It certainly worked better on the DM101 but there was still what I could only describe as a sogginess about the sound.It was the turntable that it worked best in though. I just found with the different tonearms I have used the series 11 was the one that sounded the most hazy and the least good tracker,I was using a Shure M91ed in my one.It did have the Swiss cheese headshell.I have a series 111s and I do think that it in my experience was a more capable arm.As long as you use a highish compliance cartridge.but on the TD160 I still find it coloured and for some reason it tracks a whole load better on the systemdek IIX.It could be the armboard.The black plasticky one.

avid turntable with sme tonearm

I've never actually owned a Rega Planar,I used a Revolver for a little while and found it flat sounding.Some people swear by their Rega Planar so I don't know.I've found glass and acrylic platters better than mazak.but most of the turntables I have owned have been 3 point suspended subchassis jobs. The 111 was better I thought.I was asking it to track some pretty demanding music.I've found the 111 on the wrong deck can sound a bit coloured like the 11 though.If you consider what series 11 arms are starting to sell for.My Hadcock GH220ss absolutely run rings round it in tracking ability and although it's a low mass design it's rigid.I reckon because of the turntables the 11 was teamed with it's got a reputation with those turntables.In my probably controversial experience I've found that the knife edge bearing SME arms with mazak platters seem to sound wooly and sonically not a great match.I've got my series 111 on my systemdek IIX and it's a much better match than on my Thorens TD160.I think it sounds better than the Rega RB250 did.The Hadcock is great on the Thorens.I think because of the SME 3009 arms historical importance it is forgiven for some of it's less capable traits.










Avid turntable with sme tonearm